Becca’s VBAC in The Rosie delivery unit

Becca_VBAC.JPGBecca’s first child’s birth began with an induction at 40+13 and, after a failed attempt with forceps, ended up with an emergency caesarean (EMCS) due to fetal distress. Happily, her second child’s birth was very different…

“I was 40+3 and was on my way home from my consultant appointment to discuss options if I got to 40+12, when my waters started to trickle. From when my waters went at about 6pm, I had regular tightenings but they felt more like period pains than contractions. I went to the hospital to get checked out and persuaded them that I was not going to be admitted (despite having a slight temperature).

Once home, I went to bed and slept for a few hours. In the morning, my husband and I went for a lovely walk which did increase the frequency of the tightenings a little but not significantly. I got home around lunchtime and breastfed my toddler…. I managed about 5 minutes of feeding before I was having regular tightenings, every 3 minutes. I apologised to my toddler, left her with my husband and went to hide in my bedroom. Once on my own, I used the natal hypnotherapy techniques I had practiced to stay calm and cope with the increasing pressure. They worked brilliantly. I felt so much more in control than I had done during my first labour. After about an hour I told my husband it was time to head to the delivery unit at the Rosie. He was amazed at how calm and quiet I was and didn’t really believe I was in labour!

The journey was quite uncomfortable – I really wanted to be standing up and swaying, not sitting in a car but we made it! I used gas and air once we got there and was really grateful for a very supportive midwife who respected all the decisions I had made and was wonderfully encouraging. Not that long after arriving at the hospital I felt the urge to push. This was such a wonderful relief! Although it was hard work, it wasn’t really painful. My daughter was OP and in a superman position with her hand by her face, which meant things took a little longer (1 hour 18 minutes to be precise).

Towards the end, my pulse and temperature were high and my daughter began to show signs she’d had enough so they called the doctor into the room but no intervention was required. Unusually (and I think because of the odd position my daughter was in) when I lay down, I suddenly felt my daughter really descend. A couple of pushes later and she was out! I had a small second degree tear but generally felt pretty euphoric. In fact, writing this now makes me want to do it all over again!”

If you would like to connect with other local women planning birth after caesarean, join our private online support group, you can read more about it on support page.

There’s information about this hospital on The Rosie’s Hospital VBAC data page, including its VBAC guidelines and VBAC rates.

And for monthly face-to-face support, there’s the Cambridge Birth Choices free drop-in group, held on the second Friday of the month at Cambridge Women’s Resource Centre and the last Friday of the month at Stir Cafe.

Leave a Reply

